SCOTA Legislative efforts are paying off! Without donations we are unable to continue our efforts at the state level with the help of our lobbyist. These efforts impact all practitioners across practice settings!


AOTF Scholarship Program

Over 50 scholarships are available this year from AOTF and its collaboration with state occupational therapy associations. The scholarships range in value from $150 to $5,000.

Applicants must be currently enrolled full time in either a professional occupational therapy educational program or an occupational therapy assistant program and must meet all eligibility requirements.

The Chris Ebbers Endowed Scholarship was established in 1993, and it is designed to directly benefit South Carolina OT students. The award criteria stipulate the scholarship is awarded to one occupational therapy student and one occupational therapy assistant student within the state of South Carolina. 

Congratulations to past Chris Ebbers Endowed Scholarship Recipients: 

Rachel Bernhardt, Lenoir-Rhyne University (2022)

Logan Colwell, Lenoir-Rhyne University (2022)

Ashlyn Shealy, Medical University of South Carolina (2021)

Samantha Brophy, Medical University of South Carolina (2020)

Gabrielle Burns, Medical University of South Carolina (2019)

Ashlyn Baxley, Medical University of South Carolina (2017)
Danielle Kapustka, Medical University of South Carolina (2016)
Kelly Ramey, Trident Technical College (2016)
Patee Tomsic, Medical University of South Carolina (2015)
Danielle Lynch, Medical University of South Carolina (2014)
Lauren R. Wengard, Medical University of South Carolina (2013)

Jessica Newton, Medical University of South Carolina (2011)

For more details visit the AOTF website: 

click here for scholarship FAQ's 

How to Apply

Academic Educational Programs in South Carolina

Entry-Level Occupational Therapy Doctorate

Francis Marion University

Medical University of South Carolina

Presbyterian College

Master of Science in Occupational Therapy


Associate Degree in Occupational Therapy Assistant

Greenville Technical College

Horry-Georgetown Technical College

Piedmont Technical College

Southeastern College-North Charleston

Southeastern College-Columbia

South University-Columbia 

Trident Technical College

Professional Honor Societies

Pi Theta Epsilon, National Honor Society for Occupational Therapists
Pi Theta Epsilon (PTE) is a specialized honor society for occupational therapy students and alumni. Its mission is to promote research and scholarship among occupational therapy students. PTE recognizes and encourages superior scholarship among students enrolled in accredited educational programs across the United States.

Alpha Omega Tau, National Honor Society for Occupational Therapy Assistants
Alpha Omega Tau (AOT), under the guidance of the OT Leaders & Legacies 
Foundation, is now taking chapter applications from fully ACOTE accredited Occupational Therapy Assistant (OTA) Programs. AOT is a specialized honor society for students and alumni of OTA programs, who have demonstrated superior scholarship, leadership, and service. Students and alumni must meet rigorous academic achievement requirements, be nominated by program faculty and complete application materials for review by a chapter review board. By establishing this honor society, AOT is supporting excellence in occupational therapy, fostering continued growth of those it recognizes, and offering a vehicle for member information exchanges and collaboration for professional occupational therapy scholarship, service, and leadership activities. For more information, please contact the National Coordinator, Kathryn Melin Eberhardt, at Follow AOT on Instagram at aot2019hs and Facebook at OTA Honor Society TALK. Also, check out the AOT webpage and resources at by choosing the OTA Honor Society on the left hand side.

Copyright 2024 South Carolina Occupational Therapy Association, Inc. All rights reserved.
SCOTA is a 501(c)(3) , 501(c)(6) non-profit organization. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software